Spice Up Your Life

27 Nov

Boost Your Metabolism

By Alya Alyssa Kattan


I don’t know about you but I love food with lots of flavor-the more the better! I am always using all different kinds of herbs to spice up my meals.  How great is it that eating something full of flavor can help with the weight loss process and add years to your life!!  They boost your metabolism so you’ll burn more calories and you’ll continue burning calories at rest 3 hours after you have finished eating!

5 of the top calorie burning spices along with their other benefits.

• Cumin boosts your immune system.
• Cayenne pepper and Tabasco sauce help your body burn more fat.
• Ginger helps relieve nausea and vomiting the symptoms caused by motion sickness.
• Cinnamon boosts circulation so you will work out better.
• Turmeric is useful in preventing the growth of some cancers, supports liver health, helps prevent bad cholesterol.

So if you prefer eating bland food, you can take supplements instead of adding it directly to your meals; although, you won’t get the same health benefits.  Personally I believe spices are an acquired taste so you start by adding a little amount and increasing gradually.

2 Responses to “Spice Up Your Life”

  1. ravvan November 28, 2010 at 3:35 AM #

    Thanks for the post! Never knew why ginger could do that, oh god now I’d have to get some before travelling (I’m an obsessed frequent flyer).
    My husband makes fun of the amount of herbs and spices I have in my cabinet, but what he doesn’t know is that I’m very sneaky when it comes to our meals. I use different variations of spices, like cinnamon, cardmom, paprika and a few more and add them to meals, this gives the tastebuds a boost and tricks his brain to thinking he’ll get full soon. I know it might be a bit sneaky but not only do our meals taste good, we don’t over do it and helps keep the extra weight off and control it.

  2. Tara November 28, 2010 at 1:30 PM #

    I never knew that Cinnamon helps u workout better 🙂 Awesome tip, thanks!

Leave a Reply

