Common Diet Mistakes

12 Mar

By Alya Alyssa Kattan

You try to eat healthy, watch your caloric intake and exercise so why isn’t the scale budging.  Don’t get frustrated and give up, it could be that you’re sabotaging your efforts without realizing it!  Below are a few of the common mistakes people make when dieting.

1. Not eating enough calories—this is a big no no!  It is not a good idea to consume less than 1200 calories a day. 

2. Not doing strength training exercise.  It is very important when trying to lose weight to build muscle because it speeds up your metabolism which will allow you to burn more calories at rest so you will be able to eat more.  Remember that for every pound of muscle you build you burn an extra 50 calories a day.

3. Not getting the most out of your cardio workouts. You need to make sure that you are exercising in your target heart zone.  Also, make sure to switch it up every few weeks by increasing the intensity and changing your activities.

4. Eating too many calories.  Need to pay attention to portion control.  Measure your food with a scale or measuring cups.  If you must cheat, buy smaller portions of junk food.

One Response to “Common Diet Mistakes”

  1. I Lost Over 100 Pounds March 12, 2011 at 9:35 PM #

    I disagree a little with the muscle training. Yes, having muscle is better for you and does burn calories faster but I see people that burn out because they put so much effort into working out that it finally wore them down.

    In 25 years if dieting, I have always added the gym to my plan and I made it a gauntlet of torture between my diet plan and my exercise. I always ended up quiting at some point.

    This time around I did NO exercise until 6 months into the diet and then I quit once it got cold. I’m now at the one year mark of my diet and I think the key to my success was that I didn’t make it so hard that it felt like torture.

    And one I reach my goal weight, then I can work on actually getting in shape. I did buy a bike that I am going to start riding but hopefully I don’t go overboard with the bike.

    Nice Blog. I just slightly disagree with the one tip. Unfortunately those of us that got ourselves into this mess typically can’t moderate any of our behavior very well. 😀

    The Grumpy Man

Leave a Reply

