Exercise on empty?

7 Jun

By Alya Alyssa Kattan

I keep getting questions on eating and exercise—what to eat before, after, during a workout, etc…?  So since this is such a popular topic, I am answering another question on it.  I promise I will try my best to answer all your questions.  Thanks for the questions!!  Xx Love you all!!!

Fan Question:  Is it ok to exercise on an empty stomach first thing in the morning? 

If you are trying to lose weight, you should wait to have breakfast after your workout.  Why?  When you exercise on empty, your adrenaline is high and your insulin is low and this is what is needed for your muscles to break down more fatty acids.  People who exercise without having eaten burn more fat than they would if they would have eaten something beforehand. 

Too hungry and drained to wait till after your workout to eat?  Solution: you can have something small before the workout such as 4-oz. yogurt and have whole-grain toast with peanut butter and a banana afterwards.

2 Responses to “Exercise on empty?”

  1. Tony Rovere June 7, 2011 at 8:17 PM #

    I personally agree with Alya. I believe that you should wait to eat for your morning workout.

    However, I will admit that the evidence is inconclusive and that I have heard experts say that you should have something small to eat before a morning workout.

    There are times when I do feel hungry and lacking energy when I workout in the AM. And when I do I grab a few handfuls of Cheerios, about 100 calories worth (2 handfuls) to get more through the workout.

  2. Mais June 8, 2011 at 3:36 PM #

    Thank youuuu

Leave a Reply

